14th September 2023 7:30 pm - 15th September 2023 12:00 am Ramsgate Music Hall - CT11 8NJ

Wonky Plonky Electronk, featuring Mieko Shimizu, Gagarin, Mike Lindsay and more!

Mieko Shimizu is a Japanese composer, producer, multi-instrumentalist and singer. She has worked with an extensive range of artists including Japan’s Mick Karn, Nitin Sawhney, Riz MC, David Cunningham, Robert Lippok. She has also re-mixed the likes of Coldcut and Yellow Magic Orchestra’s Haruomi Hosono.

Mieko also played at Sonar, alongside Kraftwerk as well as support for Goldfrapp, Meredith Monk, Jennifer Walshe and Massive Attack at their Melt Down Festival.

She has written scores for orchestra, ballet, theatre, dance companies, animation, film, installations and events. She has released 7 albums & Eps including the recent Phenomena of the Mind & Write To Be, including an album as her drum n bass alter ego, Apache 61. Her most recent album is ‘I Bloom’ on which she collaborated with William D Drake of The Cardiacs.

Phil Winter is a musician, DJ and member of left field electronic trio Wrangler along with analogue synth aficionado Benge and Cabaret Voltaire’s Stephen Malinder. He’s also part of the electro supergroup Creepshow with the members of Wrangler and American songwriter and synth supremo John Grant. Phil is also a member of experimental folktronica outfit Tunng.

Mike Lindsay is a Mercury Music Prize winning producer, best known for being the co-founder, composer and producer of UK experimental folk band Tunng and one half of the band LUMP with Laura Marling. Mike has co-written and produced many albums for Speech Debelle, Jon Hopkins, Gotan Project, Farao, DuBlonde, Low Roar, Jae Tyler, Beth Jeans Houghton, Serafina Steer, Hannah Peel, Cibelle and Laura J Martin.

Gagarin is the solo electronic project of Graham Dids Dowdall – who has been an active musician/composer in the outer reaches of music for several decades. He spent much of the 80s working as drummer and co-composer with Velvet Underground legend Nico and is a current member of Pere Ubu as well as a prolific collaborator. As Gagarin he makes moody and atmospheric melodic instrumental electronica with rhythmic elements, often incorporating field recordings alongside synths.

He has released numerous acclaimed albums which have received airplay on BBC Radio 3, 6 Music, and many others as well as premieres and reviews across the globe. His most recent album the Great North Wood has been particularly well received including being featured on Bandcamp Daily and repeated plays on BBC 6 and is a response to the former forest that covered much of South London. Gagarin is an active live performer creating sets that move between pure ambience and the dance floor improvising from the base of the pieces on sampler, drumpads, ipad and synths.

Peter Coyte AKA Shape Navigator began as electro-acoustic artist on seminal underground dance label Guerilla Records in the 90s writing with Coldcut, Seal, David McAlmont and Heartless Crew. He is also a composer & sound designer working in theatre, film and installations. He has long term collaborations with Filmmaker Joanna Callaghan, choreographer Dora Frankel, writer/poet Salena Godden (Mrs Death Misses Death) and circus artist & dragademic John-Paul Zaccarini.

Analogue Mechanic is an experimental, avant-garde, ambient artist, especially influenced by the west coast music philosophy of synthesis created by Don Buchla and Morton Subotnick. He works with analogue modular, digital and soft synthesizers.

His work is inspired by Delia Derbyshire and The Radiophonic Workshop as well as electronic and experimental music pioneers like Fred Judd, Daphne Oram, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Raymond Scott, Bebe and Louis Barron and Suzanne Ciani.